Search TMT
TMT Founders
Weekly Columns
Contact TMT
This form does not yet contain any fields.
    « New "Monsters" Poster | Main | First Draft - 'Daredevil: The Man Without Fear' »

    Scriptapalooza Announces 13th Annual Screenwriting Competition

    Scriptapalooza today announces its 13th Annual Screenplay Competition to continue its mission in providing unparalleled creative opportunities for aspiring screenwriters in the fiercely competitive entertainment industry.

    From now until the April 15th deadline, writers will be able to submit their screenplays through Participants will have their individual entries read by more than 90 leading filmmakers, production companies and literary agencies including 2929 Productions, Anonymous Content, Industry Entertainment, Lawrence Bender Productions and The Orphanage.

    As the leading screenplay competition, Scriptapalooza is fully endorsed by legendary author and screenwriter Robert McKee (Story) and the screenwriting software company Write Brothers Inc.

    The first place winner, chosen by Scriptapalooza, receives a $10,000 grand prize. In addition, Scriptapalooza offers its full support to the winner; finalists and semifinalists of the screenwriting challenge by promoting each work for one year after the winners’ announcement.

    “Since its inception in 1998, the Scriptapalooza Screenplay Competition has grown exponentially to become one of the well-respected competitions within the entertainment industry,” said Mark Andrushko, president and co-founder of Scriptapalooza. “Through this competition, we have optioned more than 40 scripts and opened new doors to unknown talent. We are pleased to move forward in our 13th year and continue helping participants receive introductions or representation with some of biggest players in the industry.”

    Within the past 13 years, Scriptapalooza participants have gone on to receive incredible success based on their submission through the Screenplay Competition. Select highlights include:

    . 2009 Winner John Todd options his script Madam I'm Adam to Alan Ladd Productions.
    . 2007 Finalist John Muscarnero shoots his film, Dark Woods.
    . 2005 Winner Patrick Andrew O’Connor sells his movie The Break-Up Artist during the Cannes Film Festival.
    . 2005 Finalist Craig Clyde’s film, The Holidays airs on Lifetime.
    . 2006 Semi-Finalist Eric D. Howell shoots his short film, Ana’s Playground.
    . 2003 Semi-Finalist Rodney Johnson’s Queen Sized airs on Lifetime.
    . 2003 Scriptapalooza’s TV Winner Barbara Schwartz wins EMMY for Rugrats.

    For more information regarding the competition or to submit a screenplay online, please go to

    Reader Comments

    There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

    PostPost a New Comment

    Enter your information below to add a new comment.
    Author Email (optional):
    Author URL (optional):
    Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>